Spinning and Dyeing

Thanksgiving has come and gone. What a busy time of year! Both my daughters were able to make the trip home but my son, who lives in Durango, CO. had to work. It was very sad with him missing. 

While the girls were here, I was spinning up cream colored, carded fleece for a pair of socks that I am making for my friend Patti. It was her birthday in September and I am just getting around to making them; who wants to knit when it’s warm? I sure don’t. And speaking of the weather, what a change we have had! Thanksgiving day was warm and nearly 60 degrees! The very next day, 3 inches of snow! One day fall, the next, winter. That’s how the seasons change in Northern Wisconsin.

Cold and lonely!

But back to the girls. Of course, I was asked what I’m making. I paused. Sam just remarked last night about how a client had asked if her mother had completed the poncho she was making her? Do I dare say I’m making socks for Patti as I haven’t even started the poncho? I have had trouble finding a nice moorit fleece, and I have my heart set on that type. Sam has beautiful strawberry blonde hair and it would compliment her fairness; moorit means three colored, and they tend to be brownish, red and cinnamon. They’re very soft, usually a Merino or Icelandic breed. So I thought it best to say that I didn’t know what I was going to make.  Yesterday afternoon I finished spinning the wool and last night I dyed the contrasting color. 

I haven’t exactly decided what pattern, but I’m thinking an X and O pattern for hugs and kisses. 

One comment on “Spinning and Dyeing

  1. Kathy says:

    You live in northern Wisconsin? Why, we’re neighbors! Except, of course, you’re probably in Central Time Zone and we’re at the edge, in Eastern. Thanks for visiting my blog. Good luck with your knitting. I so admire those of you who can do that.

Leave a Reply

