Winter, Spring or Fajitas?

I’m conflicted. I haven’t posted anything for a long time, I’ve been outside enjoying winter. I’ve been skiing on the Birkie trail, going for snowy hikes, and just plain enjoying the beautiful weather we’ve had since the cold snap ended. So, I’m conflicted. I am not quite ready for winter to end, and yet, I can’t wait for the snow to melt and winter loosen its icy grip on the Northland. I write this as I constantly monitor Weatherunderground, hoping the snowstorm hits us, hoping the snowstorm misses us! I want to ski tomorrow, the trails are lovely and the only people out are locals. This I write, as I sip my raspberry margarita, dreaming of lying on the beach and listening to the waves of Gitchee Gumee.  

Delicious and refreshing!

Delicious and refreshing!

I’ve been barbecuing quite a bit, too! I’ve kept the deck cleanly shoveled and the BBQ area, too. Tonight, we are having fajitas (hence the margarita)and I am going to make them on the grill. Let’s start with the marinade!

Chequamegongirl’s Fajitas and Marinade

1/4 cup Olive oil
1 Lime, juiced
3 Cloves of garlic, minced
1/2 t Cumin
Salt and pepper
1 Flank Steak
1 Large onion
1 or 2 Red, green or yellow peppers
1 Package tortillas, I like the small ones.

Marinades tenderize the meat and add flavor.

Marinades tenderize the meat and add flavor.

Mix the olive oil, lime juice, garlic, cumin, salt and pepper and pour it into a large gallon-sized zip lock bag. If you are going to BBQ on the grill, leave your Flank steak whole. If you’re going to cook it on the stove, slice 1/4 inch strips on the diagonal, then put the meat in the baggie with the marinade for at least one hour before you plan to cook. Slice the peppers and onion into strips.

Flank steak getting happy!

Flank steak getting happy!

If you’re cooking your steak on the stove, cook on medium-high heat until the pink is gone. Remove the meat and place in a bowl and cover with plastic wrap or foil. Then add the peppers and onions to the pan and cook until wilted but still slightly crunchy. Add the meat back in to reheat. Heat your tortillas right on the stove or microwave. I like my fajitas with a little sour cream and Cholula.

Wow that looks great!

Wow that looks great!

If you’re cooking on the grill, I just take my cast iron pan with a little olive oil in it and sauté the peppers and onion while the steak cooks, the peppers probably take a little longer so start them first.

Peppers done, steak still cooking!

Peppers done, steak still cooking!

Time to eat! Remember to slice the Flank steak on the diagonal or it will be tough. And I still haven’t decided, and it’s snowing again! Winter or spring?

Really good eats!

Really good eats!

3 comments on “Winter, Spring or Fajitas?

  1. emily says:

    Wow! This is great! I’m in France right now and didn’t bring enough recipes along (especially Mexican food). And all the other stuff is cool, too.

  2. Hi Emily! I’ve been reading your blog, sounds like you’re having a lot of fun; babies are more work than you thought, I’ll bet! Hope you enjoy the recipes and have a great time in France!

  3. Kathy says:

    I’m ready for Winter to end. But, in the meantime, my mouth is watering. This looks so good!

Leave a Reply

